One of the earliest references to this property is the deed of sale, which records the transfer of Lot No. 7 in Hincheyville in 1832 from Thomas Dudley to Judith Long. In 1851, the property was sold to a Mr. Weems for $1,552. The wording in the deed would indicate that the house was present by this time. Today the house holds a unique place in Hincheyville because of its unusual ‘Y’ shaped design. It is believed the Haynes family added the brick wings making the back, a frame structure, the older part of the home. Situated along the banks of Town Creek, a tiny stream several feet away and flowing under Main Street, the home gives the impression that it has rested on its overlook for a long time.