Gray’s On Main
Constructed in 1876, this building was originally the T.K. Fleming Company. In 1926, John Moran purchased the building for $8,250. In 1930, Franklin Gray Jr. and D.C. Kinnard purchased the building and the business became Kinnard Gray Drug Company. In the 1940s the pharmacy became Gray Drug Co. and the now iconic sign was installed in 1952 at the cost of $860.00. In the 1970s, the store had a family atmosphere where visitors were always welcome. The store was a destination for the much more condensed Franklin of the 1960s and 70s. Saturdays were particularly busy when people from ‘the county’ would come into town and spend the day. In 1984, Gray Drug Company computerized its store and prescription documentation. In 1998, the pharmacy was sold and Gray’s Cards and Gifts opened. The neon sign was changed from Gray Drug Co. to Gray’s. After the building sold in 2002, the building stood empty and crumbling until early 2012. Andy Marshall (Puckett’s owner) bought the building after its 10-year vacancy. Marshall, along with Michael and Joni Cole, worked on the 18-month renovation and preparation for the grand opening in August of 2013. Over 3,000 people packed the restaurant and the streets outside to count down to the relighting of the Gray’s sign. Today this restaurant and music hall with original floors, tin ceilings, and Gray’s memorabilia maintains the original buildings character. Gray’s once again serves as a meeting place for locals and travelers alike and continues to tell its story through exciting food, an innovative bar program and exceptional hospitality.